Make A Wish

I've been dreaming of taking a trip to Europe recently. That's likely to stay a dream for quite a while, though; I don't have nearly enough money, and even if I did, I couldn't get the vacation time. But it has put me in the mood for a fanfic where Harry Potter travels around Europe and the world.

Make A Wish is a frustrating work from a frustrating author. I feel like during the entire time he was writing fanfic, Rorschach's Blot never quite understood the structure of long-form storytelling. Instead, most of his fics tend to be sets of loosely connected short stories, one chapter per story, that sort of get forced into a conclusion by the end. The only fic of his that departs from that pattern is Old Soldiers Never Die, a fanfic that feels really different from everything else he's ever written.

My frustrations asside, Rorschach's Blot is almost always funny, the ideas are always interesting, and what plot there is is fun and readable. This is one of three fanfics he's written that I'd recommend, so you'll probably be seeing this author linked again on the blog in future.

Title
Make A Wish
Author
Rorschach's Blot
Rating
T
Fandom
Harry Potter
Synopsis

Harry has learned the prophesy and he does not believe that a schoolboy can defeat Voldemort, so he decides that if he is going to die then he is first going to live.

Status
complete
Download
plain text
Published:
Tags:
Back To posts